Karen Strange

Chairperson, PR Officer & Program Developer 

Partner in grain and livestock, family farming enterprise

Community Based Liaison Officer Bruce Rock DHS

Wheatbelt Youth Council Committee member

Past member – Women’s Advisory Council for the Minister for Women’s Business

Regional Development Australia Wheatbelt Deputy Chairperson


Janine Dayman

Treasurer, Program Developer & Bruce Rock School Based Coordinator 

Deputy Principal Bruce Rock DHS

Secondary teacher at Bruce Rock DHS for 20 years. Administrator since 2008. School-based coordinator of a mentoring program for our students since 2011.

Wheatbelt Youth Council Committee member

Bruce Rock CRC committee member


Sarah Edmonds


This is the third year Sarah has been a Bruce Rock mentor. 

Sarah grew up in Calingiri and completed secondary education in the Wheatbelt, so has experienced first-hand the challenges of rural youth (as well as the many advantages!).

Sarah has worked in the agricultural sector for 15 years. Her current role involves frequent travel across the Wheatbelt, which helps maintain her connection to rural communities.

Outside of work, Sarah enjoys hiking and exploring heritage sites and loves going to any sorts of arts performance or event. She also volunteers for a local historical society.


Helen Jeffreys

Program Coordinator, Support & Carnamah School Based Coordinator

Deputy Principal, Carnamah DHS

Secretary, Carnamah DHS School Board

Vice Chair, Coorow CRC

Vice President, Coorow/Latham Netball Club

Bachelor of Arts and Diploma of Education,  Murdoch University, 1991

Grew up in Mundaring, moved to Merredin for my first teaching post at Merredin SHS and have lived and taught in the country ever since.

Mother of 3 boys (currently 21, 20 and 18)


Claire Bailey

Mentor Group Coordinator & Trainer

A founding mentor at Bruce Rock DHS, mentor since 2013   

Medical Registrar at Midland St John of God Hospital

Basic Physician Trainee with the Royal Australasian College of Physicians

Clinical Lecturer at Curtin University

Graduate Certificate in Health Professions Education

Currently completing Masters in Medicine


Jarrad Paul

Mentor Group Coordinator, Trainer & Mentor

Qualified medical practitioner BSc, MBBS

Trainee Psychiatry Registrar

Passionate about youth mental health

Born in Esperance and mentor at Bruce Rock for over 6 years

Interests include cycling, football and travel


Maddie Earle-Sadler

Publications Developer

Youth Worker for Avon Community Services

Provided School Team Building activities for BRDHS

Previously the Events & Youth Coordinator at the Bruce Rock Community Resource Centre

Volunteered and worked at Camp Kulin 2013 – 2020 

Developed and ran a musical theatre class for youth in 2018

Volunteer with Relay for Life Peel/Mandurah 2011-Present


John Kelly

Applecross Rotary & Rotary Liaison Officer

Engineer (now retired) with tertiary degrees in engineering and business management.

Experience as a senior manager in construction, project management and operations in the electricity industry.

Past chairman of the organisation responsible for the operation of the wholesale electricity market in WA.

Member, Past President and Paul Harris Fellow of Applecross Rotary Club. The Club is a sponsor and strong supporter of the WBYM mentoring program at Bruce Rock.


Jo Drayton

Mental Health Advocate & Program Developer

Has worked in primary mental health and suicide prevention for two decades

Is currently the Wheatbelt Suicide Prevention Coordinator auspiced with Holyoake

Facilitator of Gatekeeper Suicide Prevention, Rural Minds and safeTALK (Living Works)

Assists communities develop Community Wellbeing Plans and Suicide Prevention Community Action Plans

Presented at National and International Conferences about her work in this sector. 

Invited by the Minister of Mental Health and the Mental Health Commissioner to join a steering committee to develop the next WA Suicide Prevention Framework 2021 to 2025 and has been appointed as one of the WA Representatives on Suicide Prevention Australia (SPA) State Committees.

Involved in Postvention responses that provide support to families, workplaces, sporting clubs and communities bereaved by suicide.

Co-developer of Wheatbelt Professionals Wellbeing Portal